Pencils For Hope e.V.
A non profit organization to helping children in Tanzania

 

It all started when Barbara and Fabio took their first journey to Africa in 2013. Immediately fascinated and excited by the continent, the impressionable nature and warmth received by its people, they recognised the responsibilities we all carry for those who live in poverty and so desperately require our help. They have therefore decided during their second journey in 2014 to Tanzania to visit two villages to drop off urgently needed goods. Informed about the most needed items by consulting Pack For A Purpose  they enlisted their families’ help and collected a total of 50 kg of school items and medical supplies which they personally delivered to Katumbi.

It became clear very quickly that more was needed to provide a sustainable support and impact. Inspired by their enthusiasm and recount of stories and pictures, six of their friends decided to get stuck in and assist with the project. Finally in July 2015, our charity Pencils for Hope was founded!

What sets us ahead of other such organisations? One of our main objectives is transparency. Through our direct contact with our local partner Nomad Trust we are able to donate effectively. This also allows all our supporters to choose for themselves what their donation should be invested in. In addition, we continue to document the successful delivery of your donations with reports and pictures received from Tanzania. Our work is delivered on a voluntary basis and we guarantee that all your donations are invested 100 %.

The Team

Barbara Coccia

Chairwoman and Marketing

“After we have visited the primary school in Katumbi for the first time I felt the responsibility to help these children towards a better life. That is the purpose of Pencils For Hope. I am very happy to see how far our support goes in Katumbi, with the first projects we realized we already see a positive result. And with the improved learning environment more children are attending school. In 2015 there were 800 pupils, today we already count 1200. There is still a lot of work ahead of us, but with the generous support coming from all over the world we really can make a difference in this little village on the shores of Lake Tanganyika.”

Fabio Coccia

Chairman and Head of Administration

“Being an ambassador for Pencils For Hope and gaining the support of many other people truly inspires me. These amazing children are full of hope and curiosity. To attend school means everything to them! I would like to assume the responsibility to help them to a better future.“

 

Ina Boehlkau

Event organization

“Children in Tanzania are mostly born into a chanceless world and I would like to give them the opportunity to influence their own destiny. I am convinced that health care and education are essential requirements to improve the children’s situation. For this reason, I am supporting Pencils For Hope with a lot of enthusiasm and energy.”

 

Kai Boehlkau

Marketing

“Get out of anonymity, move something instead of just talking about it. That’s why I’m a founding member of Pencils For Hope.”

 

Marco Coccia

Administration

Malala Yousafzai, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, said: one child, one teacher, one book & one pen can change the world. Taken for granted for most of us, education is a privilege to many children. I want to change this.”

 

Marija und Josip Soldo

Finances

“Which medical treatment do we claim for our children? Which kindergarten and school provides the best education? Which is the best diet for my child? In Germany, we are privileged to think about these questions…. Where do I get food and pure drinking water for my children? How can I afford a school uniform? Hopefully nobody gets sick, I don’t have the money for medical treatment… These are questions parents in Tanzania are confronted with. We recognized the importance of thinking ahead and taking over responsibility for children in Tanzania.  Small actions speak louder than big words. What do you think?”

Jürgen Klingler

Administration and IT

“Driven by the emotional moment of meeting young Poloko, who has been raised in an orphanage in South Africa and had an uncertain future, I started to change my life. I was also adopted and had the chance to grow up in the best surrounding with all opportunities for a bright future… Pencils For Hope offers me the chance to give something back: 100% to where it is most needed.”

Ufuk Tatar

Fundraising and Administration

“It feels good to help the children in Katumbi. 100% of all donations are invested to improve the situation of the village’s residents and pupils. This is one important reason that convinced me to become part of Pencils For Hope.”

Julia Nietzer

Fundraising

Did you ever wonder what would have happened if we didn’t had the chance to attend school? The consequences would have been serious. We are priviledged to have access to education, even if sometimes we are not aware of that and take it for granted. Many children in Tanzania don’t have this opportunity. With Pencils For Hope, we would like to enable the children to attend school… will you join in?

Lena Engel

Fundraising

Education enables a good and self-fulfilled life. I would like to offer the children in West Tanzania this opportunity for a positive future. That’s the reason why I am part of Pencils for Hope. It is a pleasure to collect donations and together with friends organize help that reaches directly 100%.

Kurt Engel

Fundraising

When I was in Tanzania in 2014, I didn’t expect that my colleague Fabio had this idea about Pencils for Hope some weeks later. Since then, I am thrilled to be a member. With Pencils for Hope we create the opportunity to help honestly and directly the people in need. Therefore, I join in proudly.

Pencils For Hope e.V.
Ein gemeinnütziger Verein zur Unterstützung von Kindern in Tansania

Angefangen hat es mit der ersten Afrikareise von Barbara und Fabio in 2013. Fasziniert und begeistert von der beeindruckenden Natur und der Herzlichkeit der Menschen, haben sie aber auch schnell die Verantwortung erkannt, die wir alle gegenüber Menschen haben, die in Armut leben und so nötig Hilfe und Unterstützung benötigen. Deshalb haben sie sich für ihre zweite Reise in 2014 nach Tansania dafür entschieden, auch einen Besuch in zwei Dörfern zu machen und Hilfsgüter mitzubringen. Über Pack For A Purpose  haben sie sich über die am meisten benötigten Dinge informiert und mit Hilfe ihrer Familien und Freunde insgesamt 50 Kilogramm Schulutensilien und medizinisches Versorgungsmaterial gesammelt und in Katumbi überreicht.

Schnell war klar, dass daraus mehr entstehen musste, um langfristig etwas bewirken zu können. Sechs ihrer besten Freunde haben sich, inspiriert von den Erzählungen und Bildern, dazu entschlossen bei dem Projekt mitzuwirken. Daraus wurde dann im Juli 2015 offiziell der Verein Pencils For Hope.

Aber was macht uns besonders im Vergleich zu anderen Hilfsorganisationen? Ein wichtiger Punkt ist sicherlich die Transparenz. Durch den direkten Kontakt zu unserem Partner vor Ort Nomad Trust haben wir die Möglichkeit zweckgebunden zu spenden. Das bedeutet auch, dass jeder selbst entscheiden kann, für was er spenden möchte. Darüber hinaus kommunizieren wir offen darüber, für welches aktuelle Projekt wir derzeit sammeln, und können durch Berichte und Bilder, die wir aus Tansania erhalten, belegen, dass die Spenden auch ihrer Bestimmung gemäß eingesetzt wurden. Unsere Arbeit ist ehrenamtlich und alle Spenden werden zu 100 Prozent eingesetzt.

Das Team

Barbara Coccia

Vorstandsvorsitzende und Marketing

„Seit unserem ersten Besuch der Katumbi Primary School ist es mein Wunsch, den Kindern dort zu helfen, den Weg in ein besseres Leben zu finden. Darum haben wir Pencils For Hope gegründet. Es ist erstaunlich zu sehen wie viel in Katumbi mit ein wenig Hilfe bewirkt werden kann und die positive Auswirkung von unserer bisherigen Arbeit ist deutlich zu sehen. Mit dem verbesserten Lernumfeld besuchen immer mehr Kinder die Schule. Im Jahr 2015 waren es 800 Schüler, inzwischen ist die Zahl auf 1200 gestiegen! Es liegt jedoch noch einiges an Arbeit vor uns und mit der großartigen Unterstützung, die wir von überall her bekommen, können wir wirklich langfristig etwas bewirken in diesem kleinen Dorf in Westtansania.“

Fabio Coccia

Vorstand und Leiter der Verwaltung

„Die Chance, als Botschafter für Pencils For Hope die Unterstützung meiner Mitmenschen zu gewinnen, inspiriert mich sehr! Diese wundervollen Kinder sind voller Hoffnung und Neugier. Die Schule zu besuchen ist für sie das Größte! Ich möchte die Verantwortung übernehmen, diese Kinder auf dem Weg in eine bessere Zukunft zu begleiten.“

Ina Boehlkau

Eventorganisation

„Die Kinder in Tansania werden unschuldig in eine meist chancenlose Welt hineingeboren, für die sie nichts können. Ich möchte diesen Kindern die Möglichkeit geben, ihr Schicksal selbst zu beeinflussen. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass Gesundheit, Aufklärung und Bildung dafür eine wichtige Grundlage darstellen. Darum unterstütze ich Pencils For Hope tatkräftig und mit viel Begeisterung.“

Kai Boehlkau

Marketing

„Raus aus der Anonymität! Etwas bewegen statt nur zu reden! Deswegen bin ich ein Gründungsmitglied von Pencils For Hope!“

Marco Coccia

Administration

“Malala Yousafzai, Friedensnobelpreisträgerin, sagt: ein Kind, eine Lehrkraft, ein Stift und ein Buch können die Welt verändern. Was für uns selbstverständlich klingt, ist für viele Kinder ein Privileg. Das möchte ich ändern.“

 

 

 

Marija und Josip Soldo

Finanzen

„Welche ärztliche Behandlung nehmen wir für unsere Kinder in Anspruch? Welcher Kindergarten und welche Schule bietet die beste Förderung. Hipp, Alete, Alnatura oder doch lieber selbst gekocht? Wir in Deutschland haben das Privileg, über solche Fragen nachzudenken… Habe ich etwas zu Essen und sauberes Trinkwasser für mein Kind? Wie komme ich an Schulkleidung? Hoffentlich wird niemand krank, das kann ich mir nicht leisten. Das sind Fragen, die sich Eltern in Tansania stellen.

Wir sehen es als unsere Pflicht an, weiterzudenken als bis zum nächsten Spielplatzbesuch. Daher übernehmen wir Verantwortung für Kinder in Tansania. Kleine Taten sind besser als große Worte! Wie denken Sie?“

Jürgen Klingler

Administration

„Die Begegnung mit dem jungen Poloko, der in einem südafrikanischen Waisenhaus aufwächst veränderte mein Leben. Ich selbst bin als Adoptivkind in den besten Verhältnissen aufgewachsen und konnte meine Zukunft in die Hand nehmen… Pencils for Hope gibt mir die Möglichkeit nachhaltig etwas zurückzugeben. Dankbarkeit und Hoffnung geben mir die Kraft für jede Anstrengung. Alles was wir schaffen hier zu geben kommt mit dem Faktor 100 dort an, wo es am meisten gebraucht wird.“

Ufuk Tatar

Fundraising und Administration

„Es fühlt sich gut an den Kindern in Katumbi zu helfen. Die Spenden kommen zu 100% den Dorfbewohnern und Schülern zugute. Das hat mich bei Pencils For Hope e.V. besonders überzeugt.“

Lena Engel

Fundraising

Bildung öffnet Türen für ein „gutes“ und selbstbestimmtes Leben. Ich möchte für Kinder in Westtansania viele solcher Türen in eine positive Zukunft öffnen. Deshalb bin ich Teil von Pencils for Hope. Es ist schön mit Freunden Spenden zu sammeln und Hilfe zu organisieren, die zu 100% ankommen. 

Kurt Engel

Fundraising

2014 war ich selbst in Tansania. Damals konnte ich nicht ahnen, dass mich mein Arbeitskollege Fabio wenige Wochen später mit der Idee zu Pencils for Hope ansprechen wird. Seither bin begeisterter Mithelfer, denn mit Pencils for Hope schaffen wir eine Möglichkeit direkt und ehrlich den Menschen zu helfen, die Unterstützung benötigen. Für diese Sache bringe ich mich gerne ein, denn sie macht mich stolz!